Brown Eyed Girl…

I made a fool of myself on Sunday. I ended up eyelash to eyelash with either Ayo or Oni Oshodi.

Brown Eyed Girl is part of the Midland Art Centre’s Their Wonderlands, curated by They Are Here, provided with only a tiny torch I blundered about the darkened gallery and when I came to this eerie little portrait I just had to have a closer look. I was convinced it was a film installation, a screen hidden behind the painting – but no, it’s the eyes of artists themselves which blink in place of this ghostly girl’s. It took me a good…3 minutes…to work this out.

Oh well, I hope Ayo or Oni enjoyed playing opticians with me.

Leave a Reply

